Territories in transition

An initiative which gathers local authorities and populations in order to accelerate their actions in favour of a sustainable future

Initiatives carried out by African territories towards sustainable development are so numerous… and still so little known. Realising that these pioneers are not alone, being able to build on their successes, their acquired skills and overcoming difficulties, this all increases the learning process. In its turn, it invites newcomers to start with the transition. In order to accelerate the movement in these voluntary territories, Territorial Coaches will animate and accompany the transition.

 

Local African governments at the core of transition

Our territories experience far-reaching evolutions affecting living conditions of local populations: climate change, migration, demography, urbanisation… In order to overcome these mutations and deteriorations, local authorities, in partnership with other local active forces, are called upon to become engines of the transition towards sustainable development. And thus become key-actors of the structural transformation of Africa.

Challenges

1. Territorial authorities need to invent new ways of interacting with their constituency and mobilise it for local development purposes. This in due respect of local contexts and of each citizen’s dignity.
2. To build or to re-build the confidence relationship between population and public authorities: by stimulating genuine dialogue, good governance and accountability of political leaders and their administration towards the population.
3. Address global problems faced by humanity: global warming, social and economic inequality, consumerism in a context of limited resources and community resilience in order to face those large-scale challenges.
4. Integrate necessary changes (behavioral, skills, vision, organisation, …) on the long run, both individually and collectively.

Territorial Coaching is an ownership and empowerment approach, dedicated to local structures and stakeholders. It builds on valorised existing strengths. It orients behaviours and attitudes of women and men towards positive transformations for a better common future. It enables local communities to reach their goals more rapidly and sustainably.

Progress of the initiative

The intention is to collect expressions of interest in order to find the necessary means to accomplish the exposed vision. Inspired by existing experiences, these 5 pillars will be translated into concrete actions.

Solar thermal power station: Botswana [©Istock – Ribeiro Antonio]
Farm – Structure powered by the wind with a multi-blade wind turbine, Republic of South Africa [©Istock – Grobler du Preez]

Expected contribution of territories

Propose as soon as possible your neighbourhood, community, city, region… in the accelerating program “Cities in Transition” by completing the form below.

Next step?

Analysis

All proposals will be analysed and clustered by country.

Feasibility

Each proposal will undergo a feasibility study, analysing the progress of change through existing actions.

Proposition

We will come back to you with a concrete operational proposition, including the existing financial capacity and the means to be found together.

Submit quickly your neighborhood, town, city, region…

The intention is to collect expressions of interest in order to find the necessary means to accomplish the exposed vision. Inspired by existing experiences, these 5 pillars will be translated into concrete actions.

Echos Communication
Verte Voie, 20
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium

Phone: +32 (0)10 24 80 69

contact@territoriesintransition.org

Expression of interest form

Yes, as an elected representative/electoral mandate holder in my territory, I support the initiative "Territories in Transition" that I consider important and stimulating in order to initiate, boost, support, strengthen and consolidate new initiatives or initiatives already implemented on my territory. In its turn, this will contribute to the promotion of sustainable development in Africa.

5 + 11 =

This form transmits data to an email box. No data is stored on this site or this server. See our privacy policy page for more information.
United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLG Africa) is the umbrella organisation for African local governments and expresses their joint voice. It gathers 40 national local government associations from all African regions, as well as 2 000 cities with more than 100 000 inhabitants. Overall, it represents 350 million African citizens.
The role of UCLGA is to contribute to strengthening local and regional authorities and their associations in order to improve their local governance and deliver public services through sustainable policies. This in in full alignment of national and regional policies.
UCLGA also delivers capacity building to local public institutions in order to support them in fulfilling their mandate.

www.uclga.org

Echos Communication is a Belgium-based non-governmental organisation. Its goal is to facilitate collective dreams to become concrete. It privileges working on human dynamics that bear changes. Its expertise: to accelerate transition.
Three focuses are of permanent concern in its approach:

1. To valorise and mobilize talents on which to rely collectively in order to create development
2. To promote decision-making through collective intelligence in order to have shared proposals emerge
3. To learn while doing.

This approach builds up on local strengths and considers development as a reciprocal change process.
Echos Communication is active in projects, an interactive plateform, training and coaching.

echoscommunication.org

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Sélectionner une page

Territoires en transition

Une initiative qui rassemble les collectivités locales et les populations pour accélérer leurs actions en faveur d’un futur durable

Les initiatives des territoires africains envers un développement durable sont si nombreuses… et pourtant si méconnues. Savoir que ces pionniers ne sont pas seuls, s’appuyer sur les réussites, les compétences acquises et les difficultés surmontées, accélère l’apprentissage et incite de nouveaux venus à entamer la transition. Pour accélérer le mouvement de ces territoires volontaires, les Coachs Territoriaux seront invités à animer la transition à travers leur accompagnement.

 

Les gouvernements locaux d’Afrique au cœur de la transition

Nos territoires sont en profondes évolutions qui affectent les conditions de vie des populations locales : changement climatique, migration, démographie, urbanisation… Pour dépasser ces mutations et dégradations, les autorités locales, en partenariat avec les autres acteurs locaux, sont appelées à devenir le moteur de la transition vers le développement durable. Et, par-là, des acteurs majeurs de la transformation structurelle de l’Afrique.

Les défis

1. Les collectivités territoriales se doivent d’inventer de nouvelles façons d’interagir avec leurs citoyens, de les mobiliser pour l’entreprise de développement territorial, dans le respect de la diversité des contextes locaux et de la dignité de chacun.
2. Crédibiliser la démocratie participative et construire ou reconstruire la confiance entre les populations et les autorités publiques : en favorisant un dialogue véritable, la bonne gouvernance et la redevabilité des responsables politiques et administratifs vis-à-vis des populations.
3. Aborder les problèmes globaux auxquels l’humanité est confrontée : le réchauffement climatique, les inégalités sociales et économiques, le consumérisme dans un contexte de ressources limitées et une résilience des communautés pour faire face à ces défis de taille.
4. Inscrire les changements nécessaires (comportements, capacités, vision, organisation, …) au niveau individuel et collectif, dans la durée.

Le Coaching Territorial est une démarche d’appropriation et de responsabilisation au service des structures locales et des acteurs locaux qui s’appuie sur la valorisation des forces en présence. Elle oriente les comportements et les attitudes des femmes et des hommes en vue d’impulser des transformations positives pour un meilleur futur commun. Ceci permet aux collectivités locales d’atteindre des résultats plus rapides et plus durables.

État d’avancement

L’intention de cette initiative est de trouver des manifestations d’intérêt qui permettront de trouver les moyens de concrétiser l’ensemble de la vision proposée. Inspirés par les expériences existantes, ces 5 piliers seront déclinés en actions concrètes.

Centrale thermique solaire, Botswana [©Istock – Ribeiro Antonio]

Ferme – Structure actionnée par le vent avec une éolienne multipale, République d’Afrique du Sud [©Istock – Grobler du Preez]

La contribution attendue des territoires

Proposez rapidement votre quartier, commune, ville, région… dans le programme d’accélération “Territoire en Transition” en remplissant le formulaire en ligne ci-après.

Et après ?

Analyse

Toutes les candidatures seront étudiées afin de réaliser des regroupements par pays.

Faisabilité

Chaque candidature fera l’objet d’une étude de faisabilité en rapport avec l’état d’avancement de vos actions liées au changement.

Proposition

Nous reviendrons vers vous avec une proposition opérationnelle concrète incluant la dimension financière existante ou en partie à trouver ensemble.

Proposez rapidement votre quartier, commune, ville, région…

L’intention de cette initiative est de trouver des manifestations d’intérêt qui permettront de trouver les moyens de concrétiser l’ensemble de la vision proposée.

Echos Communication
Verte Voie, 20
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium

Tél.: +32 (0)10 24 80 69

contact@territoiresentransition.org

Formulaire de manifestation d’intérêt

Oui, en tant que détenteur d’un mandat électif / qu’élu.e de mon territoire, je soutiens l’initiative "Territoires en transition" que je trouve importante et encourageante pour stimuler, appuyer, renforcer et consolider les initiatives déjà menées dans mon territoire et qui contribue ainsi à promouvoir le développement durable des territoires d’Afrique.

7 + 4 =

Ce formulaire transmet des données à une boîte de courriel. Aucune donnée n’est conservée sur ce site ou ce serveur. Voir notre page de politique de confidentialité pour plus d’information.

Cités et Gouvernements Locaux Unis d’Afrique (CGLU A ) est l’organisation faîtière et la voix unie assurant la représentation des collectivités locales de l’ensemble du continent africain. CGLU A rassemble 40 associations nationales de collectivités locales de toutes les régions d’Afrique, ainsi que 2.000 villes comptant plus de 100.000 habitants. CGLU A ne représente pas moins de 350 millions de citoyens africains.

Le rôle de CGLU A est de contribuer d’une part, au renforcement des collectivités locales et régionales et de leurs associations, afin d’améliorer la gouvernance et la fourniture des services publics par des politiques soutenables, appropriées et en accord avec les politiques nationales et régionales, et d’autre part, à l’habilitation des institutions publiques locales à remplir leurs mandats.

www.uclga.org/?lang=fr

Echos Communication est une organisation non gouvernementale belge. Son objectif est de faciliter la concrétisation des rêves collectifs. Elle privilégie les dynamiques humaines porteuses de changement. Son expertise : accélérateur de transformation.
Trois constantes sont au cœur de sa démarche :

1. Valoriser et mobiliser les talents sur lesquels s’appuyer collectivement pour créer du développement
2. Promouvoir la prise de décision en intelligence collective pour faire émerger des solutions partagées
3. Apprendre en faisant.

Et ce, en misant sur les forces ; en considérant le développement comme un processus de changement réciproque. Echos Communication c’est : des projets, une plateforme interactive, des formations et de l’accompagnement.

echoscommunication.org

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This